2017/2018 short story prize judges.

PRETI TANEJA has worked as a human rights reporter and filmmaker on Iraq, in Jordan, Rwanda, and Kosovo, and her work has been published in the Guardian and Open Democracy. A fellow at Jesus College, Cambridge, and Warwick University, in 2014 Preti’s novella Kumkum Malhotra won the Gatehouse Press New Fictions Prize. She is also the editor of Visual Verse and was selected as an AHRC/ BBC Radio 3 New Generation Thinker for 2014. In spring 2017, Preti was selected as one of the ‘Hay 30’: thirty writers and thinkers who will “help imagine and shape the world over the next thirty years”. Preti’s debut novel, We that are young, will be published by Galley Beggar Press in August 2017. 
JOANNA WALSH’s books include Hotel, Vertigo and Fractals. Her writing has also been published by The Dalkey Archive, Granta, Salt (Best British Short Stories, 2014 and 2015), The Stinging Fly, Gorse, and others. She reviews for The Guardian, The New Statesman, and The National. She is fiction editor at 3:AM Magazine, and runs @read_women, described by the New York Times as “a rallying cry for equal treatment for women writers”. Her new short story collection, Worlds From The World’s End, will be published by And Other Stories in September 2017. 
NATASHA ONWUEMEZI  is a distinguished reporter who has worked at The Bookseller since 2015; her focus is independent publishers, bookshops, and literary festivals . 
SAM JORDISON and ELOISE MILLAR spent over a decade in publishing and the media before they founded Galley Beggar Press in 2012. Since its inception, Galley Beggar Press authors and books have been longlisted, shortlisted, and the winners of over 20 of the world’s most prestigious literary awards – including the Folio Prize, the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction, the Dylan Thomas International Prize, the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize, the Wellcome Book Prize, the Desmond Elliott First Novel Award, and the Gordon Burns Prize for Fiction. Short story award listings include the EFG Sunday Times Short Story Prize, the Tom Gallon Award, the Saboteur Award and the Frank O’Connor International Short Story Prize.